3.6 – I Ka Wa Mamua – Page 4

McG and Danny are in the car and Danny is talking about how dangerous the world is, like he’s only just realised this. He starts talking about how Grace will live her whole life under the threat of a terrorist attack, and will never know about getting on a plane without being groped and harassed for forty-five minutes. He asks McG “did you grow up like that? Because I didn’t grow up like that” and I want to smack Show in the face with an atlas because *I* grew up like that. I lived the first 25 years of my life under constant threat of a terrorist attack from the IRA. We’ve always had don’t-mess-with-us security and emergency evacuations due to suspect packages and ‘do not leave luggage unattended’ announcements everywhere. They never put the rubbish bins back in the train stations. And this was hardly a uniquely British experience. Just because it didn’t happen to America, Show, doesn’t mean it didn’t happen to anyone else. This is not the way ‘the world’ is now. ‘The world’ has been like this for some time. Here endeth the lesson.

Chin and Kono are at the magic table. Blah blah bomb blah blah. I’m cross now. They’ve found an address for someone the bomber called before he toasted himself, and go in with lots of v impressive weaponry. The occupant – who knows the game is up because he has a whole room that pretty much says ‘I’M GOING TO BLOW UP LOTS OF CHILDREN!’ – effectively commits suicide by pointing a gun at McG and Danny (yeah, that’ll do it). Inside the room are lots of maps and pictures with Arabic writing on them, which is, uhm, imaginative. So, let’s tally up how many people Show has pissed off so far:

1. People from New Jersey
2. Me
3. Muslims

We’re seventeen minutes in. Well done, Show.

35 comments

  1. I have been fortunate to live in a country with no terrorism. But I remember hearing in the news about the IRA attacks for years, and can´t even imagine what it must have been like living under a constant threat. Sorry to hear about that Alicia…

    1. When I first travelled overseas, which was also during the period when hijacking planes seemed to be the thing to do, I remember landing in Karachi for a brief layover and all around were military with automatic weapons. It was pretty scary for a young kid from sleepy West Oz, where nothing exciting ever happened. I remember my Mum being freaked out over it.

      1. And we’ve certainly felt the impact of terrorism here even if not on Australian soil by way of the Bali bombings.

        That there are no rubbish bins in Britain in train stations may seem like such a minor thing but when I was in the UK last year, I was at St Pancras station looking for somewhere to put the rubbish from my lunch and I remembered that are no bins. That they have never been put back is a constant reminder of possible threats to our safety.

  2. That second gif! The both of them! Their pants have the opposite problems. And yet, both are amazing. That is all.

    1. Kimphin1 · · Reply

      Their pants have opposite problems! LMAO!

    2. Only just now had to tear my eyes off Steve´s hitch to have a look at what you were talking about LOL

  3. Kimphin1 · · Reply

    I understand (and fully understood it back then) that terrorism was a factor in the lives of people in other parts of the world prior to 9/11, but I have to say that SHOW got it 1000% correct in what Danny said about children growing up here post 9/11 and how everything changed. As I stood in my office – in a government building in NY, no less, watching the towers fall – it was like watching the end of life as we knew it and EVERY SINGLE PERSON knew it too. The horror of what was actually happening was terrible, but the reality of what this meant for our future as Americans is EXACTLY what Danny was talking about.

    I don’t think that SHOW erred one bit in that scene. Not.one.bit. They weren’t talking about life on this planet. They were talking about life in the US.

    1. I didn´t know you saw them fall “live”. I watched the extra TV news live of the towers. I couldn´t leave for hours. I chilled my blood even through the TV screen.

      1. Kimphin1 · · Reply

        No, it was on TV, but live coverage. I was in the NY state Capitol bldg in Albany, 2 hours north. Surreal.

        1. I think I watched TV for about 16 hours straight that day. Couldn’t believe what I was watching.

          1. heymomo · · Reply

            We just watched TV at work that day. And at home all evening.
            Just in shock.

    2. As another NY’er, I ditto Kim. Because of the internet and instant media feed, it was the worst thing you had ever witnessed, but at the same time you couldn’t take your eyes off it.
      I had gotten a phone call phone my father who was in downtown Manhattan that morning that a plane had hit the tower, and I went straight to CNN.com. I yelled to the other girls in the office that
      a plane had hit the towers, and then when the second plane hit, one of the girls actually said “wow, whats the chances of that happening?”, my response was less then ladylike as I told her, those aren’t accidents, we’re being attacked (you vapid dumba$$). The cell lines got overwhelmed almost immediately, I couldn’t reach my father, couldn’t reach my brother (who is still here by the grace of God), we didn’t hear from my father until he walked in the door, and didn’t hear from my brother until he got home to a landline. My father was among the throngs of people walking over the Brooklyn bridge and a Rasta on a moped stopped and asked him where he was going, gave him a lift to Jamaica Queens, and my brother was on the subway on his way to the towers, he and some co-workers were setting up for a small trade-show on a floor above the impact. They didn’t make it out, and my brother is alive because he had to stop at the office on his way in to get some kinda display material that one of the guys forgot (which is compounded by the fact that he had worked in the towers until just a few months before the attack when he took a job in mid-town).
      The impact that day had on the country overall is heart wrenching, but when you live in the suburbs of NYC, a lot of your neighbors are NYPD (out of the 4 houses across the street from me 3 are NYPD) and NYFD or local volunteer firemen who worked the pile, it was even worse. My town lost 1 police officer and 3 firemen, the funerals, which seemed to go on for months, caused traffic jams, with people sitting in their cars in the traffic, just crying because we all knew what the hold up was…..another funeral procession, another reminder that a family lost a son, a father, a brother, a mother, a wife, a husband, a daughter, and that our lives would never be the same.
      and btw -FU OSAMA, hope your 900 virgins all had teeth on their cooters.

      Rant over.

      1. Kimphin1 · · Reply

        {{Hugs}} for you and dad and bro

      2. *HUGS* AND REAL LOVE, Justine & Kimmer (and JDD and all you other New Yorkers out there), love you so much!!!

        ________________________________

        1. Justine, that’s really powerful stuff. You must have been beside yourself worrying about your brother.

      3. I am glad your brother and father made it. Your story moved me…

      4. heymomo · · Reply

        Holy sh!t.
        Thanks NY girls for sharing.

    3. I wasn’t, in any way, trying to belittle the effect that 9/11 had, whether on those who were in the city that day (*hugs* to all you NY girls, I cannot begin to imagine what it must have been like) or on the country as a whole. It was an awful day, and I remember watching the live coverage and hardly being able to believe what I was seeing. Nor was I trying to suggest that anyone here is unaware of the experiences of others in that respect, because I know from conversations I had with some of you about NBC’s ommission of the tribute to the victims of the 7/7 London bombings from the Olympic opening ceremony that you understand and sympathise. My point was just that the tone of this conversation made it seem as if “this is a dangerous world we live in” is a new development, and the way Grace will grow up is unknown in human experience, and yet there are people watching this show who DID grow up under those circumstances, and they might be a little affected by it. Perhaps that’s just because we’re a little oversensitive. 🙂

      1. Kimphin1 · · Reply

        All love, Alicia. Its just that as I was watching the episode, and Danny said that, I was struck with how true of a statement it was. Show doesn’t always say things that resonate with me, but that one really did.

        1. Anonymous · · Reply

          Alicia it wasthe fact that the USA wasn’t immune or invincable and as safe as we thought we were. We had never had an attack on our soil of this magnitude . Up until that point we had been very fortunate. It made us realize that we were no safer then any other place in the world.
          I didn’t for a second think u were making light of that day.

          1. Glad Show has made us think this week.

            Thanks to the NY gals for sharing their experiences. I can’t imagine how horrible it must have been. I do remember 911 clearly though, and even though so far away from those awful events, the impact was still felt. The same goes for the Bali and London bombings. I have a close friend in London who was working near where the bus was bombed on 7/7 and it was a very anxious time for me until I heard that she was OK. And in Australia, we have been deeply affected by the Bali bombings even though this act of terrorism was not perpetrated on home soil.

            Do agree with Alicia about the ‘tone’ of the conversation in this ep but that is really my only niggle. I think perhaps American viewers may have a slightly different perspective given, as Kim and Anon have said, the impact of 911 on their nation. I can totally see how 911 signalled a new way of thinking about the country’s safety. I grew up in NZ and I still remember when the Rainbow Warrior was bombed and how this act (even though not a terrorist one) was a turnnig point for our sleepy little country.

            Thanks to everyone for sharing their thoughts on this issue with such love and respect 🙂

    4. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

      ACA with you Kimmer.

  4. I’m just off to an airport to get groped for 45 minutes.

  5. Alicia never could image growing up living under such physical and mental stress.

    Sometime we take life for granted, carefree, without the understanding of others plight.

    Thank you for sharing. You should write more of what happen growing up.

    1. Thanks 🙂 it really wasn’t that interesting. It never touched me personally, except in a peripheral way – I remember seeing London Victoria Station and the Grand Hotel in Brighton (where I grew up) being rebuilt, and having to evacuate train and tube (subway) stations because someone had accidentally left a bag behind. I was more affected by the 7/7 bombings (which were carried out by Islamic extremists, not the IRA) because I was working in London then, very close to where one of the bombs went off. I was just always aware that there could be a bomb anywhere around me, like MJ says about being nervous walking past rubbish bins, or being on the tube or trains where there was a lot of luggage, basically being scared of anything that might be big enough to have a bomb in it. And of course, it being all over the news whenever something *did* happen. I don’t recall that it stopped us doing anything though. It wasn’t something we consciously thought about, it was just always there, in the back of our minds. MJ, is this what you remember?

      1. Yeah, it was only when we went to London (which was a couple of times a year in the 70’s) where it was in the back of our minds. I lived in Earl’s Court for a year in ’84-’85 and I think that was the same, it didn’t stop you doing things, you just accepted the minute chance that something might happen. I used to go with my mum and she had been a teenager in London during the Blitz so I don’t think it worried her much.
        Think I was more scared in 1980 when the Protect and Survive leaflets came out to advise us what to do in the event of nuclear attack (hide under a table apparently). I had just gone to Plymouth Uni (a naval area) and we heard low flying jets screaming over, I thought we had had it.
        Anyway, I digress.

      2. heymomo · · Reply

        All the garbage bins in our subways were taken out the day after the 7/7 bombings. It was over a year before they replaced them – with clear plastic garbage bags on a frame that is easily seen through.

  6. I can’t get past the hitching gif…..someone throw me a rope in an hour or so…..Sweet Baby Jesus and the Orphans….(that two handed hitch is so epic I had to spell it out).

    1. Let’s call it the DFH… Double Fisted Hitch… y/y/mfy?????

      1. YES!! DFH!!! FTW !!!!

        1. I canNOT believe that I didn’t notice this hitch when I was watching. #monumentalfail

          1. heymomo · · Reply

            Best. Hitch. EVER!!
            DFH FTW!!

  7. Alicia, I remember the IRA bombings, and thats scary stuff, same as some people I know that grew up in Israel. I don’t know how those families lived in fear like that, I’m glad your family was able to move away from the chaos.

    1. I too remember the IRA bombings. We lived about an hour from London and I used to be really scared walking past bins in case they blew up. Also going on the tube was really scary.

    2. Well, we didn’t move away from it exactly, it ended in the late Nineties when the politicians finally found a solution that everyone could live with, if not be happy with. And yes, it was undoubtedly minor compared to some other countries. El-Al have armed guards at their airport check-in desks. At check-in! Scary scary scary.

Leave a Reply

