3.11 – Kahu – (Guardian) – Page 4

Oh hi Max! Max is being very patronising to Chin and Danny here. What is the point of this scene please? Oh, OK. It’s Chin’s dark shirt! It’s it black? I can’t tell in this light. Wow, he looks amazing though. Why do the men look so amazing in this ep while the women are wearing such fugly clothes? While Max is wittering on about tea plants, Chin is looking thoughtful and announces that he knows what’s going on. It’s moonshine! Yee-haw!

max

‘Run Through The Jungle’!! Awesome! Even though they’re driving through the jungle. But still.

Or is it purple? Chin’s shirt, I mean? Hey, George Takei! In a straw hat! Brewing moonshine! Chin’s shirt looks chocolate brown now. Is it MAGIC???? George Takei offers them some moonshine. Chin asks him if he knows the dead guy and he says not, but he knows where these amateur moonshiners hang out. And that’s it. If there were any Star Trek in-jokes in this scene, I missed them (but then I was always more of a Next Generation girl myself). Danny and Chin deduce that Bruce was selling moonshine out of his store, and a bunch of other stuff that I don’t pay attention to because this COTW is already more complicated than I can be bothered with right now, and then Chin says:

“It’s a good theory, now we’ve just got to prove it.”

Personally, I’d be finding out if it’s true first. Maybe that’s just me.

I’m going to go with aubergine. Aubergine is good (as opposed to aubergines, which are revolting except in the one way my local Thai place does them, which I have never successfully replicated.  HAH!! I made a Star Trek joke! That’s better than you managed, Show).

gt

Back at HQ, McG and Cath are having an INTENSE discussion about whether they should ask Ethan if he knows who the dead guy is, but this is completely overshadowed by the fact that Ethan is reading a comic book by – guess who? – PETER LENKOV! Seriously, Show? There’s product placement and then there’s just taking the piss. (Although, if I weren’t still cross about the VS episode I might find this funny in a cheeky way, but I AM still cross about the VS episode, so I don’t.)

At some point during his conversation about proper procedure with someone who is very lovely and very special to him, but in no way a law enforcement officer, McG says that lying to kids is bad. Yes. Are you listening, Doris? (You know, it wouldn’t surprise me at all if she WERE listening. I wouldn’t put it past her to have bugged his office.). Cath eventually agrees that they should ask him and says “you think breakfast in a car is romantic. Maybe I should handle this” but then, she wasn’t around last week. If she had been, she would know that where kids are concerned, McG has this sh/t DOWN.

Cath offers Ethan a drink, her treat (wow, push the boat out there, babe, you always make McG at least offer to buy you dinner) and he says that she doesn’t have to bribe him. Cath stores this revelation away for future use. Ethan manages to completely evade the question of whether he knows the guy or not by asking whether his dad killed him and then completely covering his face with his hair. Impressive. Cath is not so good at this detectiving lark, because not only does she fall for this completely, she then goes out to get him the drink when even *I* can tell he’s going to do a runner with cash from her purse the moment she leaves the room. Don’t give up your day job, love.

(As an aside: I love Cath as much as, if not more than, the next person, but – WHERE THE F/CK is Kono??)

(On a related note, there were seven separate close-ups of Atplenkov’s comic book during this scene, just in case you were wondering. I think it had more screen time than Kono did in the whole ep.)

Ethan’s taken a cab to the middle of nowhere, but forgot that the team can trace the phone McG gave him (much have you to learn, young Padawan). Ethan’s clinging onto the idea that his dad is a good man, and then McG says:

“It’s your dad that we’re talking about. I totally get that. But what we’re trying to do, we’re trying to get to the truth. I know it can be painful -”

We can’t actually see Cath, but given what she’s hiding from McG about his mother’s fondness for high-voltage interrogation techniques, I’m sure that this moment is not awkward for her AT ALL.

Ethan DOES know who the dead guy is, He’s a friend of a really bad guy. McG and Danny and some Kevlar and thigh holsters (askdjhakdjhsalakl) go to the really bad guy’s house and there’s ANOTHER guy there. Who is HE now? I have no idea who all these people are. Let’s instead talk about the moment McG nudges him in the back with his big gun. Oh wow, could that have come out any more wrong than it did? Oops.

foy frames

foy frames2

48 comments

  1. I thought Danny was a real a/hole in the scene with Max. Their snarkiness with each other seems to get worse with each episode.

    1. Yep. I think Max was just dishing to Danny what Danny is usually giving out to everyone else. I like that Max is totally non-flustered by Danny.

    2. Kimphin1 · · Reply

      I loved it when Max just shut his mouth and stared and Danny. Loved that, always confuses the a/holes.

  2. yup, just what I was going to write… Danny and Max are being very hostile to each other this season, I don’t know why… And, Alicia, where on Earth did you found out it’s comic book by Peter? I re-watched my screencaps 3 times, but I can’t see anything more than dude on cover looking a lot like Magnum… and btw. there’s comment about magnum on page 1

    1. I think he’s tweeted about it, and I remembered as soon as I saw it that it he’d written it (curse of a good memory…)

      1. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

        Wait it’s a real comic book? Not an in joke hey I wrote this book or something like that? Doesn’t he have another show in the works? And a comic book? Sheesh this guy has more then 24 hours in a day.

    2. heymomo · · Reply

      You’ll be seeing more of Lenkov’s comic book next summer. They’re making a movie out of R.I.P.D. (Rest In Peace Department) – it’s about undead cops avenging of of the cop’s death. Ryan Reynolds is going to be in it.

      1. Ooh, that sounds good! I like Ryan Reynolds.

      2. Kimphin1 · · Reply

        And Jeff Bridges And Kevin Bacon!!! Looks good.

        1. Hmm, ok so a typical atplenkov sausage fest. 😉  Who’s the female lead who will undoubtedly die a bloody & horrible death?  (I kid, I kid!!!)

          ________________________________

          1. Kimphin1 · · Reply

            I think its the chick from Weeds?

            1. Mary Louise Parker? also from West Wing?

              ________________________________

              1. Kimphin1 · · Reply

                YES! I knew it was 3names but since I’m all tryptophan-sleepy I could’nt remember!

  3. LOLing at the comic book getting more screen time than Kono and then sadface because it’s probably true.

    1. I thought of actually timing the respective screen times of Kono and the comic book – but I couldn’t be arsed. I don’t think there was much in it though. Sadface indeed.

      1. You can check wiht some of the people on Twitter. I’m sure they’ve got screen counts of everyone in this episode….

        1. That’s … Unnecessary.

      2. All this episode I kept thinking, man, the boys look fine today, and hey? where’s Kono. Show apparently only allows one woman to be bada$$ every episode. Too much of that and we would be looking for equal pay or something…

      3. Kimphin1 · · Reply

        The comic book has more curves than Kono. (I know… “meow!” and I’m woman enough to admit that I’m batsh.t jealous of her thin.)

        1. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

          I like food too much to ever be that thin.

    2. ACA…..I always wonder if GP asks for less time? and is happy with it?

      1. I believe it is her choice. And our loss.

        ________________________________

        1. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

          Oh really?? Working on other projects on the mainland??

          1. If marriage is a project, yeah, I guess. That’s all I’ve ever heard. She wants shorter work weeks to spend more time in Canada with her husband.

            1. heymomo · · Reply

              Who wouldn’t want to spend more time in Canada? 😉

            2. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

              Ah fair enough then. It’s good if it’s something she wants and rather then the writers not knowing what to do with her character.

              Sent from my iPad

  4. sorry, page 2 for that comment

  5. annieoakley · · Reply

    I love Cath too, and the chemistry between her and McG is awesome, but I’m not sure I like her being so involved with COTW (beating up the bad guy and not even getting bloody? come on…). INHO, Cath’s main job (outside of Naval Intelligence, of course) is to get McG out of his pants and into the sheets. C’mon Cath, do your sisters out here a favor, will ya?

    1. canadagirl66 · · Reply

      Agreed…I’d love to see Cath use that last manuver on McG…where she jumps up, wraps both her legs around his face (sigh) and drops him into bed instead of down a flight of stairs!!!

    2. I don’t Cath should be physically in them all but they worked her in here nicely, I thought. When I saw the promo pics I wondered why she was there but I liked it. It worked for me for this episode.

      1. And it was the last chance they’ll have to focus on her for a while because she’ll be back at work now and they’ll have limited opportunities to have her teaming up with 5-0 (in the field, I mean). It’s fair enough that she should get an episode where she has a lot to do, like Max did last year. She is a series regular now, after all.

        (Is there going to be another one of these, do we know? We found out quite a lot about Max in his ep, but we still don’t really know anything about Cath #sadface)

        1. Kimphin1 · · Reply

          AtPLenkov has teased that there is a Steve/Cath centric episode coming up in early 2013.

          1. Ooh! Is this the flashback ep, do you know?

        2. Yes, there is supposed to be a Cath centered epi. I don’t *think* it was supposed to be this one because if I remember correct (don’t count on it) that Peter said it would be next year.

          We do need to learn more about her, agreed!

          1. canadagirl66 · · Reply

            That’s true…we only know a couple of things about her…let’s see…her dad is a military man…her mom thinks Steve should propose…and she’s not making it to dinner with the HOTTEST NAVY SEAL EVAH!!!!

  6. The Max and Danny attitude toward each other seems ugly, since the beginning of season three. The writers feel the shows needs this hostility. Why?? If Danny has a problem with Max than he shouldn’t go to the coroner office.

    This is a televison show, they need two characters to make disparaging remarks.

  7. heymomo · · Reply

    I’ll make you some eggplants/aubergines that are delicious, Alicia!

    1. Aww, thanks babe! I’ll make you a butternut squash risotto in return!

      1. Kimphin1 · · Reply

        And I’ll be making plane reservations! Where is this happening?

  8. I was gonna ask, why you no like the eggplant Alicia? ever had it Italian style?

    Max and Danny….. I love it, Max is so awkward in all his social interactions yet he doesn’t take crap from Danny. And Danny loves to dish it so fair play in my book.

    1. How do you make it Italian style?? *gets out notebook and pen*

      1. Justine just emailed me eggplant recipes. I love you Justine ❤

        1. heymomo · · Reply

          Are they vegetarian?

          1. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

            Eggplant lasagne is normally vegetarian. 🙂

          2. Assuming the cheese is, then yes 🙂 I’ll forward them on!

            1. heymomo · · Reply

              Please do!

  9. Poor Alicia, we worked out that she would do the recap for this episode because of George Takei’s appearance but it was so brief and entirely devoid of Star Trek references. #bummer

    1. *sulk*

      (although I might not have recognised them if there had been. I haven’t watched The Original Series for YEARS.)

Leave a Reply

