3.17 – Pa’ani (The Game) – Page 2

In Max’s office, Max confirms that the cause of death was indeed a 9mm gunshot wound to the head, but also that the victim had a sedative used to treat insomnia in his blood, which is odd because a) it would be a bit daft to take knockout drops before doing an activity that required you to be alert, and b) he didn’t actually suffer from insomnia. Kono deduces that someone drugged him.

Hiiiii Cath! Cath’s wearing a Dallas Cowboys top and McG supports the Redskins. This is apparently like Romeo and Juliet. Literary reference! Steph, this is totally for us!

JK: From forth the fatal pockets of those cargos, a pair of star-cross’d tickets… end up with Flippa and Max.

Alicia: Well, quite. Show, can you PLEASE find something for Cath to DO???? That was mildly cute but also utterly pointless.

kissyface

Apart from the kissy face, that is.

Now we’re at the bar that Davis went to the night before with some people who are pretending it’s the evening when actually it’s the middle of the day and this is the Magnum PI guy, right? He knows McG! Poppa McG also liked to confuse his internal clock, evidently. When he finds out Danny’s from New Jersey, he tells him – and I love McG’s ‘oh no, here we go again’ look here – that he used to work with Frank Sinatra and Sinatra gave him his stage name. Neither Danny nor I have the faintest idea how to react to this.

nicky3

The Kid tells them that the dead guy was at the bar the night before, drinking alone but not for long before he was joined by a woman named Holly who has a talent for getting between rich men and their money. He doesn’t know anything else, but they should talk to the bouncer who gets v generous tips from her, so Danny speculates that they’re running a scam and this guy is in. About three seconds later, the guy is running OUT because their constant suspicious glances in his direction have tipped him off. Subtlety, thy name is NOT Five-0 <– a literary reference for you there, Steph.

JK: Neither is “continuity,” I see.

Alicia: You’re not wrong, because hang on a minute – when did McG change back into his blue tee/overshirt combo? (I just mistyped that as ‘overshit’ #freudian).

So they’re running after the bouncer but The Kid cuts the guy off and punches him in the face. I don’t really remember Magnum at all, but if I did I expect I would be giggling in delight here. He says that Frank taught him that move (but we know that really it was Tom Selleck).

In possibly the most astonishing volte-face Show has ever managed, when Nicky starts to get aggressive when questioning the bouncer, McG tries to calm him down! What the FUCK, Show?

JK: Pot meet kettle, amiright?

Alicia: Right!

badge

Anyway, the bouncer doesn’t really know Holly, he just tips her off whenever someone with more money than sense turns up. He communicates with her by text message, which he can do because her number is programmed into his phone. I’m glad Show clarica’d about this because I’ve never used a cellphone before and I’m not very sure of how they work *boggles*. Holly doesn’t usually drug her marks so McG and Danny reckon that someone used her to get to the victim, and that if they find Holly, they’ll find the killer.

tikibar

Kono’s at the Waikiki Beach Marriott, which is where the GPS on Holly’s phone is telling them it is (she’s obviously guilty of something otherwise she’d be at HHV). Kono goes through a very unsecured door marked ‘Security’ where a security guard is reading The Black Box by Michael Connelly (I know some of you like to know these little literary references) and finally, someone who has heard of Five-0!! He’s expecting HPD but looks THRILLED that Kono has turned up instead. Holly left her phone by the pool after an ‘incident’ – OMG, he just called the guy Holly was with by the pool an ‘unsub’!!! So this guy is a security guard but REALLY REALLY wants to be a cop, I’m guessing. Waaaah, I typed that before he said he put an application in to HPD!! He’ll fit right in.

The HPD-wannabe shows Kono the security footage of the altercation at the pool between Holly and whoever she was with, which is broken up by a football player named Arian Foster. Kono says “he’s even hotter without the pads and the helmet” but then he just stepped in to help a woman who was being manhandled by the guy she was with, so not Kono’s usual type at all.

42 comments

  1. I could have done without Larry Manetti singing. I also didn’t need to see how much he’s aged. Because that means I’ve aged a lot too.

    I’m probably going to cop some flak for this, but Cath’s voice and her cutesy ness is starting to get on my nerves. I love McRoll, and I wish they’d hurry up and get to the ep where McG finds out that Cath is keeping a big secret regarding Doris. Unless of course, that happens off camera. Like McG’s PTSD.

    1. Anonymous · · Reply

      I absolutely hated the L M singing! This must have been one of my all time least favorite scenes in this show (kids included).
      I don´t see what the problem with Cath as gf is. I am hoping for more smooching between these two 🙂

      1. Anonymous · · Reply

        Not anonymous, it´s me, Pee 😉

    2. Nance1031 · · Reply

      Agree wholeheartedly with everything you said!!!!!

      1. Nance1031 · · Reply

        I agree with what Westy said….sorry fingers got ahead of brain

    3. canadagirl66 · · Reply

      I hate to admit that I found Cath’s voice and cutesyness rather annoying in this ep too.
      Please Show, give this talented actress something to sink her teeth into…including McG of course!!!

      1. I wish they’d stop dressing her like a teenager as well. Or at the very least put McG in shorts that short too.

    4. I don’t get why this was so ‘cutesy”? i mean, I guess it kind of was…but she had something she was excited about…she was surprising her lunkhead BF with tickets she thought he’d love. Poor Cath/Michelle. She’s in a lose/lose sitch. If she doesn’t do anything exciting it’s bad, but when it comes time for the Doris thing people will be b/tching because she lied to steve and it involved Doris. *sigh*

      “off camera…like McG’s PTSD”. <<– Fist bump

      This was the first time I really thought McG was being a bad BF. Very disappointed. It's bad enough he likes Tom Brady, now this? Just put on your blue shirts and finish this horrible episode…k thx.

    5. Andrea_Briz · · Reply

      Westy, I’m with you on the LM ageing thing. I was a huge Magnum fan but of course I was only a baby then hehe.

      Agree re Cath’s voice and cutsie-nesss. It’s not that I don’t like Cath or McRoll because I do but it’s not been very interesting so far. I just want to see the relationship develop. It seems to me that the writers don’t quite know what to do with her. If she is going to be a main cast member she needs something meaningful to do.

      1. The writers didn’t quite know what to do with McG in the first season either but they finally got there. I think they’re being cautious with Cath. I think they’ve done a great job with her so far but I’m also just so happy she’s there I can really enjoy what she brings to the table instead of worrying about what she’s not doing. After last season’s fiasco i think they’ve integrated her very well. And if in the end her only Job is to be mcG’s girlfriend, well… I’m ok with that too. It’s a tough job but someone’s gotta do it. 😉

        1. It’s funny how we all see things differently, I don’t think they’ve integrated her well at all. It worked to begin with but they ran out of things for her to do once she wasn’t on leave anymore. Lori was at least there for a reason, even if they talked about it once and then never referred to it again until she left.

          I’m quite happy for her to be there just as McG’s girlfriend (because I lover her) but there are so many other aspects of the characters’ personal lives that should have been explored but haven’t that I’m getting a little exasperated when I want to see actual character development and all I get is another cute McRoll scene.

          (Yes, yes, I know, watching for plot. You don’t have to say it!)

          1. No, I get it and I’m not trying to be argumentative. I agree on the aspects of personal lives needing to be explored, but I think that’s for all of them, not just Cath. Even for McG, who even though we know the most about him, it’s really very , very little. It’s something I can’t change so I just McRoll with it. <<–see what i did there? lol.

            I know we all have our things about show that irk us, I have my list too and I get vocal about those. Those things probably aren't going to change either. *cries*

            1. I see what you did there! #love

              You’re so right about McG, part of the reason I’m so excited about the flashback ep is that we might find out a bit more about him. I think we’re just agreeing with each other here, aren’t we? lol.

        2. I tend to agree with Alicia. I don’t think she’s been integrated well. They just don’t seem to know what to do with her. I guess that’s why I think she needs a ‘job’, to have something meaningful to do other than the cutsey scenes. If her only job is to be McG’s GF, then I want to see the relationship develop, It hasn’t at all really. I’m also a bit over the Clueless BF thing with McG :).

          I do agree with you completely, Ess, about the lack of character development extending to others. What about Chin dealing with this wife’s death for example? What’s happening with Danny and Gabby?

          When you think about a standard episode, there’s only a little bit of room for character development that is not integrated with the COTW. I think my interest in McRoll is waning as it doesn’t seem to be going anywhere (as much as I love Cath) and what little scope there is for character development is being mostly taken up by McRoll. I’m just an ‘equal opportunity’ kinda gal when it comes to character stuff and I’m also a bit greedy – I want to learn more about ALL of the key players as I love them all (OK, well maybe McG just a little more than the others).

  2. karin@notmcnerd · · Reply

    “so not Kono’s usual type” lol

  3. “but then he just stepped in to help a woman who was being manhandled by the guy she was with, so not Kono’s usual type at all.” — Fist bump.

    1. ^^ This!!! Bwahaha!

    2. Fist bump.

      1. Andrea_Briz · · Reply

        Double fist bump!

  4. canadagirl66 · · Reply

    That shirt fiasco pissed me off…first he’s wearing a blue shirt (shocking!)…then he’s wearing a green shirt (sigh!)…then it’s blue again…then green!!! WTF Show! If you are going to fk up the order of the scenes this way, you should at least let us see him in between shirts..for at least 5 minutes each time…COTW be damned!!!

    1. ^^THIS^^ if he was going to change shirts so often, we should have seen it. Jerks.

  5. Alicia and Steph, you should take this on the road. You’d be a helluva a lot better than “The Kid.” You had me rolling when you talked about the clarica’ing. It was pretty bad this episode. My Not McG kept saying, all sarcastic like, “Ohhh. Is that how that works? I’m so glad you explained it to me.”

    1. I would love to go on the road with Alicia. Tour kicks off at the Palladium, Summer ’15. I think by then the Junior Geckos will be old enough for her to abandon with minimal emotional trauma. 😉 (kidding Alicia!!! you know I have mad love for the Junior Geckos!!!!)

      1. heymomo · · Reply

        FRONT ROW TICKETS.
        (the junior geckos can sit with me)

        1. (Bring dinosaur hands!)

          1. heymomo · · Reply

            Consider it done 🙂

      2. MAD LOVE!!! So do I, in that I love them but they drive me mad. 😉 #jk

        Summer ’15? *surveys wreck of previously neat and tidy home* yeah, I think I could manage to get away by then…

  6. First, this: “Show, can you PLEASE find something for Cath to DO???? That was mildly cute but also utterly pointless.” Yesssss.

    Second, the American football fan in me really liked the moment when Cath asked, “Who doesn’t like America’s team?” Because just as Danno and McG were raising their hands, so were myself and my Not McG at home. This just shows that Show has the right priorities. (Except for the part that probably three-quarters of the fanbase couldn’t care any less about the NFL.)

  7. annieoakley · · Reply

    Cath’s job is to get McG naked – that’s ALL, Show! Get with the program…

    1. canadagirl66 · · Reply

      *high five*

    2. As long as she is around, there´s always a chance for some nekkid Steve 😉

  8. heymomo · · Reply

    Cath’s cutesyness gave us the Steve FAAACES when he admitted he already had tickets.
    She didn’t bother me at all this ep, however, I do want them to give her some more meaty stuff to work with. (double entendre completely intentional)

    1. Yes! More meat for Cath!

      I like her as Steve’s girlfriend but if that’s what she’s there for then where are all the scenes with Danny and Gabby? Max and Sabrina? Chin mourning his wife? Fong pining over Kono (or possibly having a workplace romance with the SIS chick who I really really liked)?

      1. But then people complain when she gets more meat to work with. WHY is she doing favors for Steve, WHY is she there doing this, WHY is she there doing that? WHY is Cath doing this and not Kono?? Mark my words all of those questions will come up next week. I don’t disagree with you that she needs to do more, it’s just that someone is always complaining either way… I’m just happy to see her around.

        1. I don’t doubt it! But they made her a series regular and they should have had a better gameplan for her than this.

          1. Andrea_Briz · · Reply

            What Alicia said. I think she’s missing a ‘Job’. The others have one. The recurring cast members too – Fong, Max, Kamekona. I think her job needs to be more than just being McG’s girlfriend.

  9. heymomo · · Reply

    I loved Rick! I mean The Kid! One step closer to getting Magnum on the show!
    Magnum was on CBS, Blue Bloods is on CBS, 5-0 is on CBS. Come on network, MAKE IT HAPPEN!

  10. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

    What I want to know is why didn’t Steve know Cath went for the Cowboys. I mean I already asked my NotMcG who he goes for and it mattered. For reals. His answer mattered to me. As in maybe I wouldn’t date him if it was the wrong team.

    I go for the Cowboys so as far as Cath and her team are concerned, it’s all gravy.

    1. I’m not sure he didn’t know, I watched it again and although he looks a bit bemused, he doesn’t really look surprised. It could be taken either way, really.

      So who DOES your NotMcG go for then?

      1. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

        Richmond Tigers. He’s allowed to go for that team. And even better he doesn’t really follow them. 🙂

        1. Tigers? Poor, misguided NotMcG. At least it wasn’t Collingwood. Or St Kilda. 😉

          1. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

            Haha. Exactly. I almost feel sorry for him. Almost. 😉 they do have the best song though.

            Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

