3.19 – Hoa Pili (Close friend) – Page 3

I guess this next scene is a chance to give Fong some screen time and to show how well he fits together with Kono.  It’s adorbs on one level – Kono and Fong look like they are auditioning for a spot on Myth Busters.  They have goggles on the top of their heads and they give a demo of how the explosion happened.  With a pet dispenser?  First a bang stick and now a pet dispenser!  (Just as an aside, a pet dispenser would totally NOT work at my house.   Harry, my large and perpetually hungry dog, would have the food out of that thing in a jiffy.)  Anyway, it’s all a bit of a time waster because the pet dispenser wasn’t that complicated.  I was woeful at Science at school and I think I would have gotten it without the involved explanation.

The pet dispenser evidence leads us to another suspect.  The MO matches an old case which gives the team a name – Jimmy Amana.  This leads to another classic H50 chase scene in a crowded market but at least Chin and Kono get to be action-awesome this time.  However, the FBI show up to spoil the party and Jimmy becomes part of a turf war.  It turns out he was given an FBI pass on the arson as he’s part of a ‘RICO case’ but Kono and Chin give the Feds the brush off and haul Jimmy into the Blue Room.  He has an alibi though so the Five Ohs are back to square one. (By the way, in case you were wondering, RICO stands for Racketeer Influenced Corruption Organisation Act.  And, no, I didn’t know that.  Google did though.)

Now we have Max with a giant mako shark in his office.  Why?

Top of the 'missed opportunity' list: Max didn't sing DUN DUN... DUN DUN.. DUNDUNDUUUN before he pulled back the cloth. Honestly, Show, I despair sometimes, I really do. ;-)

Top of the ‘missed opportunity’ list: Max didn’t sing DUN DUN… DUN DUN… DUNDUNDUUUN before he pulled back the cloth. Honestly, Show, I despair sometimes, I really do. 😉

Fishermen found an arm inside the shark.  More clarica ensues, this time regarding links to the bang stick from evidence on the arm.  The arm could belong to the man Jason shot with the bang stick, says Danny.  You don’t say.  Is it just me, but is the clarica in overdrive in this episode? There’s more clarica in this scene but let’s move on, lest we be clarica-ed to death.

The arm is identified as belonging to Hal Lewis, fisherman and partner of Jay Lappert and Bruce Kaneshiro, whom McG and Danny had already interviewed.  Chin, to ‘keep things thematic’, tells the boys that Lappert and Kaneshiro’s story about helping out Jason when he was being beaten up was a “fish tale”.  See what Chin did there? They have motive – the fishermen’s livelihood is being threatened by the shark tours.  Gee whizz, there are a lot of suspects in this episode.  First, the Kapu then Jimmy and his pet dispensers and now the fishermen.  Are you keeping up?

Not in the slightest.

Not in the slightest.

McG, Danny and Kono go to someone’s house (Lappert, Kaneshiro, Lewis?) and they find Kaneshiro dead.  Just in case you are not keeping up, Lewis is the armless missing fisherman presumed dead and Kaneshiro is recently discovered dead so that leaves Lappert, who is now suspect number 1, also because he’s recently bought $30 000 worth of diving gear.  And because he’s the only one of the fishing team left alive, for goodness sake.  (Here McG and Kono ‘geek out’ about Sub Mariner but I will be honest and admit that I didn’t get it.  Did you?)

Kono's evil look is kind of disturbing. What did he do???

Kono’s evil look is kind of disturbing. What did he do???

30 comments

  1. canadagirl66 · · Reply

    To be honest Show lost me at this point…I didn’t care whodunnit or why…all I cared about was The Pretty…fortunately Show and Alex did not disappoint!!

    1. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

      I was so lost during this episode. So very lost.

      1. My crayons are having a mild panic attack…

        1. Muah-ha-ha…

  2. Kimphin1 · · Reply

    I couldn’t follow the COTW because I was lost in a school of red herring. Truth.

    1. It’s hard when you don’t ever “see” either a victim or criminal, they just get talked about. At least one other ep this season was like that, I can’t remember which right now. For this ep, it came together for me at the end when McG left the pic of the 3 on the red-head’s lap. I think we kept expecting to find a body of the boat explosion “victim” then when the arm showed up, they were looking for a one-armed perp. The drama of that announcement kind of overshadowed Max’s assessment that the guy was *probably* already dead due to blood loss. Then we had to infer he’d been really eaten by sharks & there wouldn’t be a body found at all! So yeah, when McG left the picture, I was like OH!!!! Now I get it.

      1. Yes, especially since the ‘one-armed perp’ line was in the promos – so when Max said he couldn’t have survived it was a bit – what?

        1. Makes you wonder if the promo people watch the ep all the way through before they make the promo. Cause you know? They really should.

          1. heymomo · · Reply

            Sometimes I feel they make the promos before they’ve even finished editing the episode. I’m sure we’ve had episodes that didn’t even contain scenes from the promo.

            1. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

              Pretty sure that happens here. With reviews as well. I base this on the fact that once in the TV guide a person (can’t remember if it was a guy or girl) revised an episode of Supernatural but they spent the entire review mixing up the two brothers. Because Sam sounds like Dean. Obviously.

              1. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

                Also WP won’t let me scroll up and see what I write earlier in a comment so I can’t go back and read over it. Hence that revised should be reviewed.

              2. LOL, I read that Supernatural review too. I was totally confused!
                “Because Sam sounds like Dean. Obviously.” HA!!

                1. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

                  I’d seen the episode and was still like what are they on about?

              3. I was so confused when SPN first started because Jared’s character’s name on Gilmore Girls was Dean. So I couldn’t understand why he wasn’t the Dean on this show, too. And then I never watched Supernatural so it didn’t matter. But I still think of him as “Dean.” Even though he’s easily been Sam twice or even three times as long as he was ever Dean.

                1. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

                  I’m a Gilmore Girls fan too and it took me a while to get used to calling him Sam. I loved him as Dean, even if they destroyed his character towards the end.

                  1. Yeah that was really bad on both Dean & Rory. I was so unhappy with that show near the end.

                    1. Infant_Sardonic · ·

                      Same here but I watched it for so long I has to see how it ended.

              4. heymomo · · Reply

                LOL! That’s a pretty epic fail 🙂

      2. LOL, Steph! Weird that in an episode awash with clarica we still didn’t know what was going on!

    2. heymomo · · Reply

      “school of red herring” LOLOLOLLLL!

    3. BWAHAHAHA!!

  3. I have to admit, I watched this episode twice. It was hard to follow the COTW. But, all the eye candy and the action made up for it!

  4. heymomo · · Reply

    Namor the Sub-Mariner is a comic book character. Kind of like Aquaman 😉

    1. Yay, Momo has the answer!

  5. Not my favorite epi when it came to plot. PLOT??????? but Steve and Catherine. Chin and Leliani , Fong and Kono and the wild helicopter ride made up for it. ONWARDS!!!

  6. I have to admit, and it may have been my red shirt goggles, but loved Chin’s “keeping it thematic line” and watching those beautiful boys lined up behind the majik table. I also loved the submariner references, but especially liked the Kono, was the geekest of them all!

    1. I didn’t really get the sub mariner reference but I loved the geek and the playfulness that exists in the team. Some of the jokes felt a little flat to me in this episode but Chin’s face when he said ‘keeping it thematic’ was adorbs. Also, the when the boys line up and fold their arms like that, fangirls around the world fall into a collective heap on the floor.

      1. Infant_Sardonic · · Reply

        I didn’t get the sub mariner reference either.

        1. It took me about two years to get Aquaman. It was only when I started watching The Big Bang Theory that I realised what it meant. #geekfail

Leave a Reply

