A Fangirl’s Lament (Happy Birthday Andr3a!)

 

A birthday poem for our FUCUP poetess and blogazinemistress!

 

 

A Fangirl’s Lament (with apologies to Alfred Noyes)

I remember there being a time when
I wasn’t a fangirl at all.
(As an adult, I mean, and too ancient
For posters pinned up on the wall.)
When I could walk into a shop and not
Check out the men’s cargoes first.
And I didn’t just think of a vampire
Whenever somebody said ‘thirst’.
And if someone had said I’d be crushing
I’d have laughed and said ‘that isn’t me!’ –
Then I lost my heart to a stranger

andrea10

A stranger

andrea8

A stranger

andrea6

Yes, I lost my heart to a stranger
(And truthfully, I blame McG).

andrea3

Now I’m checking my email for pretty
And I’m finding a moment to pray:
TV Gods, by chance could you give us
Some BTS pictures today?
And I rewatch and rewatch and rewatch,
This poor DVD’s wearing out.
Of course there are always the favourites,
Watched so many times I’ve lost count.
At times I might think it’s not normal
In a moment of rare clarity –
But I’ve lost my heart to a stranger

andrea4

A stranger

andrea13

A stranger

andrea15

Yes, I’ve lost my heart to a stranger
And I’m not sure it’s quite up to me.

Think people are starting to wonder
Why I’m never around Monday nights
(they think that this changes in summer
Because now the evenings are light).
But they never know why I’m distracted
Or have hardly any spare time.
And what happened to doing the housework?
(I was looking at pictures online.)
But of course I can’t possibly tell them
That I’m not who they know me to be –
For I’ve lost my heart to a stranger

andrea2

A stranger

andrea7

A stranger

andrea9

Oh, I’ve lost my heart to a stranger
And it’s nothing I want them to see.

So I’m carrying on just like always
Though these feeeeeelings aren’t easy to hide.
But I’m calm when an interview’s posted
While giddily squeeing inside.
So they never work out why I’m smiling
In a random, mysterious way
(And aren’t smartphones a super invention?
I can sneakily fangirl ALL DAY).
So I’m gazing and sighing and flailing,
But I do it all so secretly –
For I’ve lost my heart to a stranger

andrea12

A stranger

andrea14

A stranger

andrea1

Yes, I’ve lost my heart to a stranger
And nobody knows it but me.

 

 

(and you lot)

 

Happy birthday Andr3a! Have a wonderful day love from Alicia, Andrea and Westy xoxoxoxo

 

Thanks to H50BAMF and Terry for pics. If I’ve used one of yours and not credited you, please let me know πŸ™‚

29 comments

  1. FOYeur · · Reply

    Totally AWESOME!!
    (I think most of our hearts refrain on this! πŸ˜€ )

    1. What r u talking about? I can’t relate to this at all!!!!!!

      1. FOYeur · · Reply

        Lying Hooker!!

  2. Brava Alicia!
    Happy Birthday Andrea!

  3. paula · · Reply

    Beautiful, and funny, especially “and you lot” LOL

  4. KarinA · · Reply

    Sums it up perfectly!

    Happy Birthday Andrea, and thank you for being the reason for this lovely post!

  5. Well, happy birthday again, and again and million times more!

  6. OMG! You just described me too! Hope the Birthday is happy and we all get some great BTS photos and it’s Monday and so a wonderful new episode to watch!!

  7. That is fabulous!!! and oh so identifiable – πŸ™‚ Happy Birthday Andrea πŸ™‚ xo

  8. Kimphin1 · · Reply

    HAPPY HAPPY Birthday Andr3a!!!!!!!

    1. Kimphin1 · · Reply

      And – inspired as always Ms. McGecko. Bravvvvoooo!

  9. heymomo · · Reply

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY ANDR3A!!
    And thanks for sharing your birthday present with us πŸ˜€

    Awesome job Alicia!!

  10. Happy Birthday, Andr3a!

    1. Thank you for storing this gem of a poem in the Champ Box! I will definitely rest assured knowing that it’s safely stored McG’s other “things.” πŸ™‚

  11. marnov2205 · · Reply

    Alicia, I’m amazed by your epic poetic skills!! Were I not too old for that, I’d print out the lament and pin it up on the wall. The refrain is killing me. *v v emo* I’d only add ACA and AMEN. (And maybe WHAT R U DOING IN MY HEAD?).

    And of course, Happy B-Day to Andr3a! With special thanks for being the cause of this special post :-)!

  12. Happy Birthday, Andrea!
    And Alica, hot damn, that was fantastic. It sums us up quite well, doesn’t it?

    Well done!

  13. Happy Birthday Andrea and Alica I love your enchanting poem. Kudos Darling

  14. From one Andrea to another, happy birthday!

    Alicia, wonderful poem and great use of the pics to add to the sentiments.

    1. Thank you so much! The wonderful birthday wishes made my week so much better!!!

  15. Happy Birthday Andrea!

    Amazing poem!

  16. Happy Birthday Andrea!

    Such an amazing poem, how could you ever know EXACTLY how my life has been since I ‘met’ Alex?

    1. Thank you so much lady!!!!! I love it!!!

  17. karin@notmcnerd · · Reply

    Happy, happy birthday, Andr3a!

    Alicia, I think we all have a “before and after Alex” split to our lives. You captured the feelings so well. It would be so easy to worry about “who am I now and why am I so attached to my computer/phone?” if we didn’t know there were so may of us out there suffering (enjoying) the same fate. Thank you again for sharing your amazing talent.

  18. AH MAY ZING
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAMAAAAAAAAYYYYYYYYYYZIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIING!!!!!!
    Oh ALICIA. OH MY GOSH. OH ALICIA.

    your pefection continues to amaze me!!!

    Happy Birthday Andrea!!!!!

  19. This was so awesome, WESTY!!! You rock!!!! I’m not sure if I should be LOLing because this describes my life almost exactly, OR, if I should be all misty-eyed at the loveliness of all the birthday wishes and friends! I think I’ll take both emotions!

    1. Ooops! ALICIA!!!! Thank you! I need to read more closely, but since I’m getting old……….it’s tough turning 29 so many years in a row…….forgive me my confusion.

      1. I hope you had a super-awesome birthday, lovely!

  20. Thank you to everyone for your lovely comments! I AM SO GLAD THIS IS NOT JUST ME. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

