Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. – only 4 days to go!

“It’s a new world. Nothing has been the same since the Battle of New York. These are the agents that work the cases that S.H.I.E.L.D. hasn’t classified. When you’re dealing with the strange and the mysterious, you need a hand-picked team that can get the job done no matter the circumstances.”

The first adventure of Level 7 of the Strategic Homeland Intervention, Enforcement and Logistics Division (“someone really wanted our initials to spell out ‘S.H.I.E.L.D.'”) airs on Tuesday! THIS Tuesday! COULSON LIVES!!

I am INSANELY excited about this and we’ll be having recaps here on the CB because I expect I am going to want to talk about it Quite A Lot.

These are our intrepid heroes:

shield1

L-R:

Skye (Chloe Bennet) – computer hacker.

shield6

Jemma Simmons (Elizabeth Henstridge) – biochemist.

shield4

Leo Fitz (Iain De Caestecker) – weapons technology.

shield10

Phil Coulson (Clark Gregg) – fearless leader.

shield8

Melinda May (Ming-Na Wen) – pilot and weapons expert.

shield5

Grant Ward (Brett Dalton) – combat and espionage.

shield7

And yesterday a new recurring character was announced, to be played by Ruth Negga:

shield9

No information yet on what her role will be, but I like her already.

And Jemma and Leo are NOT a couple, but look how cute they are!

shield3

D’awwwwww! And I LOVE Jemma’s Converse. And her magic colour-changing hair (what?).

Apart from Clark Gregg, the only cast member I’ve seen in anything else is Ming-Na Wen, whose character (Camile Wray) I adored in Stargate Universe (and I never realised before that Camile’s partner was played by Reiko Aylesworth! I thought she looked familiar) but they look good together. Although let’s face it, this show could just be about Coulson and I would still watch it. And Ward is described as “a one-man ninja, or a Swiss Army Knife” who has no people skills and struggles to work as part of a team, which sounds…. familiar, hmmm ;-).

There’s a fun website here (from where I shamelessly stole the quote at the top of the page):

http://www.agentsofshield.com/

It sometimes takes a while to load, so you’ll probably click back to another tab, and then it will start to play music REALLY LOUDLY and scare the life out of you. So watch out for that.

LEVEL 7 IN T-MINUS FOUR DAYS!!!

*hyperventilates*

SEND HELP!!

32 comments

  1. OMG ARE WE GOING TO TALK ABOUT THIS SHOW?!?
    YES!

  2. YES! YES, WE ARE, MOMO!!!! ARE YOU EXCITED?? I AM!!

  3. I’M SO EXCITED I’M JUST GOING TO LEAVE MY CAPS LOCK ON!!! TO SAVE TIME!!!

    1. YOU KNOW WHAT’S REALLY EXCITING? I DONT EVEN HAVE TO STREAM IT OR DL IT, BECAUSE WE GET IT THE DAY AFTER IT AIRS IN THE US!!!!

      (Caps lock is making me feel exhausted!)

      1. Bit knackering, isn’t it?

        The day after??? You lucky swines. We don’t get it until Friday. FRIDAY!!!

        *sulks*

        (not really)

        1. Yes, we’ll, *we* get it the day it airs in the US!

          (The excitement might be making me silly. Might be.)

            1. BE SILLY! IT’S SO EXCITING!!

              1. I’M SO EXCITED!! AND I JUST CAN’T HIDE IT!!

  4. karin@notmcnerd · · Reply

    Wow! I must be living under a rock! Or are you all putting me on? Is this a real show? Never heard of any of these people….. except Coulson kind of reminds me of Christine’s ex in New Adventures of Old Christine.

    1. IT’S REAL!!!

      It’s Joss Whedon’s new Avengers-verse show.

      I’M SO EXCITED!!!

      And that IS Christine’s ex in New Adventures of Old Christine (although I had to look this up on imdb, I don’t think we got that show here)!

      1. karin@notmcnerd · · Reply

        OK, thanks, Alicia.I don’t know who Josh Whedon is either so I’m either showing my age or entertainment ignorance. Probably both! But, as a fellow AOL fan, if you and Westy and Momo are happy, I’m happy! Enjoy yourselves!

        1. karin@notmcnerd · · Reply

          Now the universe is poking fun at my ignorance! I attended a baseball game this evening and your show was promoted on the ribbon screen that runs around the front of the grandstand. At least, thanks to you Alicia, I knew what it was!

          1. LOL, that was mean of the universe!

            Joss Whedon wrote Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Firefly (among many other things!) – the main character in Firefly was played by Nathan Fillion of Maha’s ‘pizza with’ fame :-).

        2. SO HAPPY!

          1. *HAPPY DANCE*

    2. I must be living under a rock too, since I never heard of this new show. It looks promising! Must add this to my DVR to do list.

  5. Awesome! Coulson + Whedon = winning! And we’re getting it in Oz so I can watch something on an actual television for a change.

    The cast looks great. The only one I know other than Coulson is Ming-Na Wen from ER.

    1. Ah, I never watched ER so I don’t know her from that. Her character in Stargate Universe was awesome. She was fabulously stroppy, particularly where the macho military top dog guy was concerned :-).

      1. I loved ER, watched the entire thing from start to finish and sobbed when Dr Greene died. Geeky, I know. Ming-Na Wen was good in the show.

        The sad news is that it looks like we’re still in a holding pattern in Oz. I looked up the channel SHIELD is being shown on and it doesn’t say when it’s starting, just that it’s coming soon. Darn it.

        1. Oh nooooo! That sucks.

          1. Also, will Friday ever get here? Pfffffft, c’mon week hurry up.

            1. I KNOW!!! So cool that we’re getting it so soon after :-).

        2. Spoiler Alert! Dr Greene dies in ER? WTF?? I’m just kidding, I stopped watching after Gorgeous George left, I had no cares for anyone else I watched purely for George, oops I mean plot!

          1. Crumpet! So good to see you here. I hope you’ll be joining us for the recap discussions 🙂

            What? You left ER after George did? Tsk tsk. But he WAS pretty awesome and things weren’t quite the same without him. Sigh.

            1. Crumpet_B · · Reply

              Howdy! I am hoping to be here for some if not all show(s) recaps. Cannot promise, but can promise to TRY!
              Fine. I did watch for a little while after to see Dr Luca who was lovely but no Dr Ross. Thinking about it I don’t think I’ve watched any other Dr show so GAV has a lot to do to keep my interest in his new show. (Shirtlessness & Pantlessness will go a long way to help – just saying) 🙂

              1. Awesome! Looking forward to it! (I promise plenty of Severide pics on the ChiFire recaps, reason enough I would have thought, to check them out.)

                Ah, yes, Dr Luca. He was rather lovely, wasn’t he? (that accent!) But no Dr Ross for sure. Poor GAV, he’s suffering under the weight of your expectations already. But I am sure he will be brilliant.

  6. I’M WATCHING NOWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!

    1. SO EXCITING!!! OMG YOU’VE ALREADY SEEN IT!!!

      1. Yes I have!! Let me tell you, it was SO AWESOME to see the little Grr Argh! Mutant Enemy logo at the end!!
        As for the actual episode, I won’t talk about until you’ve seen it 🙂

        1. Alicia has seen it! The recap should be coming soon. I won’t be able to watch it until tomorrow night *stamps feet*.

Leave a Reply

