#h50 – 4:05 – Billy, Don’t Be a Hero

Kupu’eu – (Fallen Hero)

All pics by bookemdanno.net. I really owe her a drink 🙂

I’m not going to do the usual recap for this episode. I’m a little short on time and to be honest, I didn’t think the COTW was that great.  It did set up the whole Billy thing, but other than that…meh.

So, Cath and Billy are on a stakeout to catch out John Cutler, a cheating husband.  After his girlfriend leaves, a gunman turns up and shoots Cutler.  Cath and Billy both get shot, Billy more seriously, and he dies after Cath gets him to the hospital.

405_010

405_012

405_014

Turns out Cutler’s wife has a high level security clearance for the company she works for, and Cutler is using her clearance to sell military secrets.  The obvious suspect in his death is whoever is buying what he’s selling, which is a rival firm, but it turns out they got there after the shooting and were responsible only for the removal of the body and clean up of the crime scene.  Someone ordered a hit on John Cutler, but who?

Suspicion turns to the girlfriend, who is in fact not really his girlfriend, but moonlighting as a hooker. In the end, we discover that the person behind the death of Cutler is the girlfriend/hooker’s assistant, who is in love with her.  I can’t even remember his name, that’s how interested I was.

collage

So that’s it for the COTW.

The rest of the episode, however, I enjoyed.  I have come to accept that McRoll is here to stay.  I don’t like it, but that’s the way it’s going to be.  I don’t dislike McRoll, I just don’t need or want to see them all the time.

Now that Billy is dead (and really…all that build up, all that angst over whether or not they’re going to go at it like rabbits, and then…bang, he’s dead?) As much as I didn’t want the soap-operish love triangle, I really thought this storyline would have been a little longer.  Or why bother with those carguments for three freaking episodes?

I think Cath joining the team – which is obviously going to happen now that she is jobless – is a big mistake.  I’ve worked with my husband, and it wasn’t pretty!  And we weren’t in a high pressure, dangerous job where we could have died at any time. Although there were times he came close 🙂

I’m glad the Champ Box made an appearance again.  I would have thought Steve would have had it locked away more securely than just lying around in the garage.  I’m almost over the whole Doris storyline now – I’m getting to the point where I honestly don’t care where she is, who she’s with, what her connection with WoFat is.

What I Liked About This Episode:

  • AOL and MB played the hospital bedside scene well.  Not overdone, but I really felt for Cath when she found out Billy was dead.
  • More screentime for Chin – always a plus.
  • Joe’s scene in the morgue where he listed all Billy’s achievements and accomplishments.
  • Billy’s funeral. Taps. The 21-gun salute. The scenes at the bar afterwards.

What I Didn’t Like:

  • The COTW – kind of boring and not very well put together.
  • The fact that still no-one has mentioned Fong (yeah, I know he’ll be in ep. 7, but still!)
  • Cath running around with a gun, wearing Kevlar and acting like a cop.  Already!
  • The disappearance of Danny.  That was just weird.  I think it would have been better not having him in the episode at all.  The way he wasn’t around after his initial appearance didn’t make sense.

My biggest question though, is this:

HOW COME THEY COULDN’T SMELL THE FRESH PAINT AS SOON AS THEY WALKED INTO CUTLER’S LOVE NEST??

34 comments

  1. hunny_bee1 · · Reply

    Wow, Westy – it’s like you read my mind! I totally agree with everything you said – about the Steve/Cath relationship (yawn…I really don’t care), about the not-very-interesting COTW, about Cath running around & acting like a cop (given Grace Park’s absence, it was so obvious that that was what would happen!), about how pointless it was to put so much build-up into the “ooh-will-Billy-break-up-Steve-and-Cath” ‘storyline’, but then kill him off after only 5 episodes…all of it!
    The funeral scene was very moving. Definitely want to see more Chin too!

  2. karin@notmcnerd · · Reply

    I liked the funeral scenes except for the dress Catherine wore. This is picky, I admit, but I think she should have worn something to cover her bandaged arm. The visible bandage seems like it would draw extra attention to her when the focus should be on the deceased.

    The only other issue — have a hard time believing Steve wouldn’t have inspected every compartment in that tape recorder. Just seems like something he would do!!
    Enjoyed the episode but not one of my faves. Thanks for letting me add my two cents. I appreciate your hard work, Westy.

  3. The COTW was stupid!! And I really thought they would keep Billy around a little longer.

    1. ACA. It was so weird to have all that build up over Cath working with him and the stupid love triangle and then she only worked with him for about 5 minutes before he was bumped off!!!

  4. After the ep was over, I said, “I can’t wait for the recap to see what everyone else thought.” Westy, you have pretty captured it… not much to say.

    I was pretty “meh” over the COTW as well. This ep was clearly all about Billy/Cath/Steve, so the
    COTW was pointless other than to kill Billy. Here are some random thoughts:

    – I am now in full annoyance mode with Kono and Adam. Is there something in the contract that Park has to appear in every episode? Frankly, this is now a waste of time.

    – Um… there are guns being fired, but they run out there without kevlar? C’mon now. Too ex-Navy peeps and they don’t have kevlar? Not in the budget yet, Billy?

    – I didn’t expect Billy to get killered off that quickly! R.I.P. Billy. You were pretty cute.

    – I don’t get McRoll at all. It seems to change from week to week. It seems like they’re living together, but then they seem kind of distant at first at the post-funeral thing and he kisses her on the cheek? And Cath turns away from him to cry in the hospital bed? So now what… she’s going to have a guilt trip about Billy and that’s going to somehow affect her ‘ship with Steve?

    – I also didn’t understand the significance of Danny not being there at the beginning. Now we’re going to jump back in to Doris & Joe. And why isn’t the team hauling as to Hong Kong to help Kono? They had no problem hightailing it to North Korea to get Steve. I know that Park’s real life is what’s up, but Show could do a better job with working around it. Hell, they wrote Steve completely out of the show while Alex dealt with the meds, so why is this sitch so difficult?

    I love Show and will keep watching for the location eyecandy and the shirtlessness (more of that please!) – but they need more cool COTWs and less ‘ship drama. And don’t ever, ever, ever, ever, ever put Toast in a corner again in favor of a DoD guy!

    1. “And don’t ever, ever, ever, ever, ever put Toast in a corner again in favor of a DoD guy!” – Spursy FTW!!!!

      Oh, the letdown when Toast was mentioned and then we didn’t get to see him #sadface

    2. hunny_bee1 · · Reply

      Totally agree! The only thing I’d like to add is that I haven’t been able to take the Kono/Adam relationship seriously ever since she joked about him knocking her out, tying her up and holding a gun to her head, in that episode towards the end of season 2. Yes, I know it’s a TV show, and we’re supposed to allow for “artistic licence”, but I’m sorry – it was inexcusable the way she apparently just forgave him and the whole incident was just glossed over, as if it was no big deal.

  5. lunaterra12 · · Reply

    Thank god for the Champictionary! I couldn’t remember what COTW meant. lol What I remember from the ep> McG working on car (a pile of goo already), McG in a lovely pullover looking sexy ( I dunno why he was looking sad…), McG rocking Kevlar BAMF style, and McG in choker whites. Really, what else was important? Did I miss something?

    1. spurschick · · Reply

      What else is important INDEED! All of those things are what made up for an otherwise “meh” episode. I haven’t done the fan vote episode thing yet, but is there a way to vote for shirtlessness?

  6. Annie Oakley · · Reply

    OMG that pullover in the hospital, and waiting there for her to wake up – my panties fainted. Can you imagine seeing that face when you wake up in the hospital, I’d be sure I’d died and gone to heaven (I’ve been a very good girl). Overall I liked this episode, lots of McG in lots of roles – mistrustful w Joe, tender w Cath, all fallen-comrade with Billy, but the COTW was pretty weak. Also, I have questions:
    Why did McG wear his dress whites to Billy’s funeral but not to Cath’s leaving-the-navy ceremony? (altho he did look hot in that dark suit).
    Why didn’t she call 911 for Billy instead of driving him to the hospital in their surveillance van?!? That’s what it’s there for, stupid girl!

    1. I think with the dress whites it’s that she was upset and nervous about leaving the Navy and for him to wear uniform would have been saying ‘I’m still in the Navy and you’re not, ner-ner’ and we would have said ‘Jeez, McG, INSENSITIVE MUCH??’.

      Also, they probably knew this episode was coming up and that seeing him in the whites twice in such a short space of time would be too much for about half their fanbase. Gotta protect the ratings, you know? 😉

      1. From a military point of view, it was actually disrespectful of Steve to not be in dress whites/blues for the ceremony. It was saying he didn’t respect her decision on a professional level.

      2. Forgot to add in my previous reply that I’m not sure if this was an intentional subtle comment from Show or if they just thought that putting McG in a suit was awesome because he would look hot (which, yeah, he did). I’m leaning towards suit = hot because a) atplenkov doesn’t know what subtle means and b) if he has military advisers for the show, I don’t believe he actually listens to them. There’s way too many small inaccuracies (that wouldn’t affect filming/timing/plot/etc.) for me to think otherwise.

        Of course, I have absolutely no respect for that man so my judgement/opinion might be bias. Just a little lol

        1. “I’m leaning towards suit = hot because a) atplenkov doesn’t know what subtle means”. You’re probably right, which makes it even worse. As Alicia said on Twitter, Show should make sense according to its own rules and if it’s going to include military characters, then it should get these things right.

      3. I thought Steve *HAD* left the Navy. Being in the reserves isn’t the same. And who said Cath didn’t sign up for reserve duty? All I could think of in the final scene is why Cath wasn’t wearing HER dress whites to the funeral. She’s still a combat veteran. We need a McNerd on which way is correct. Can she or can’t she wear them? Steve wears his so much I figured she would as well.

        1. When you’re in the reserves, you’re still active and still in whatever branch of the armed forces. Cath resigned her commission so she is completely gone from the Navy. No more uniform for her.

          1. Thanks for the explanation. I wonder why they did it that way, but I guess it’s not important. I guess I feel kind if bummed about it, but no big deal.

            1. RIP uniform. I liked the uniform :-(.

  7. It might just be easier (and more family friendly) for me to list the things I liked about the episode. So here goes:
    McGarrett looked hot. Mechanic McGarrett especially but Bedside Vigil McGarrett and Dress Whites McGarrett are right up there as well.
    Kono! Actual brand new, not prefilmed footage of Kono. The Adam/Kono relationship is still a bit squicky to me. But they do look oh so pretty together.
    A tiny glimpse of Daddy!Danny which always makes me smile.
    TOAST mention!!! (but quickly ruined by not actually utilizing him)
    Cath’s understated make up is so pretty on MBorth.
    Military funerals are so hard to watch because I’ve been to too many in real life. But this one was well done I thought.
    And um… yeah. That’s it.

    Moments that left me scratching my head: Cath fainting from a bullet graze to the arm, Danny’s disappearance (wouldn’t it have made MUCH more sense to say he was on his way to Gracie’s cheerleading competition and have Joe offer to drive him to the airport? As it was, he rushed ALL the way back to Oahu to help out and be there for Steve/Cath and then… wasn’t), and *sigh* still no mention of Fong. I dunno, the writing is just so… so… off this season.

    Predictable, boring, waste of character (Billy), completely unrealistic, cliche filled soap opera drivel, all topped off with a *cue sappy music* I did it because I love you moment. Special mention for the CGI addition of Danny to the final two scenes. If you’re going to insert a character in digitally, make sure you do it on the long shots as well.

    1. “McGarrett looked hot. Mechanic McGarrett especially but Bedside Vigil McGarrett and Dress Whites McGarrett are right up there as well.” >>> This! Too bad there’s more to a good television show than all that 🙂 .

      ACA with your comment about the writing although I’ve felt that way for ages. The overly dramatic fainting made me giggle, actually, and later I was WTFing over Cath playing at being a kick ass cop (a) after being injured and (b) because she IS NOT A COP. Sheesh.

      The Danny stuff made no sense at all. If Scott wasn’t available for the ep – and fair enough if he wasn’t – then surely the writers could have come up with a better reason for his absence. His presence was, well, kind of random. And that scene with Joe in the car made me forget about the dialogue as I was too busy focusing on the fake background. What was up with that? *scratches head*

      Poor Fong. Still stuck in NoMentionLand.

      I am actually rather cranky at the whole Billy thing. The poor writing of his story arc was tragic – pointless love triangle that went nowhere and a guy set up to be a potential snake only after Cath for her body not her skillz, is then suddenly he’s bumped off and we’re meant to feel all sentimental about a ‘hero’s death’? His character was used as a vehicle to get Cath out of the Navy and into the team and it really did him an injustice. not to mention an epic fail when it comes to building tension and keeping the audience on their toes. As for the procedural, it started out well but the resolution was way lame. “I did it because I love you” – bleurgh.

      So I will go back to your comment to end on a positive note: “McGarrett looked hot” #thatisall

      1. This was my only major gripe about this episode: that after spending the whole season trashing Billy’s character when he was nothing but the stand-up guy McG said he was at the start, they didn’t even give him a proper death scene. They killed him off-camera, where all the good stuff happens. And the moment he was dead it was as if none of the previous three episodes happened. Danny was consoling Catherine as if he hadn’t spent three episodes telling McG that she would inevitably cheat on him, and then turned up at the funeral to pay his respects to a man he had no respect for in life. I liked Billy, from the little we saw of him he was a decent guy and he deserved better than to be just an empty plot device used to create fake tension and then thrown away just when things were starting to get interesting.

        Minor gripe: the prostitute was the character that I said was like a female Christian Grey in the gender bias post because the casting side made her out to be a professional woman who ran her own company, the only woman on that list who had an actual job. But no. She was a prostitute. And saying the dead guy’s wife had a high-powered job counts for nothing if we don’t actually see her doing it. They could easily have had the team breaking the news to her at her workplace since they didn’t know about the shooting until Cath woke up the next morning. (We saw a lot of the prostitute doing her job though, didn’t we? In her sexy lingerie. What a surprise).

        And just for a little more sexism, when they thought she was the villain she was ‘a woman scorned’ (vindictive, mercernary) but when they found out it was her male assistant, all of a sudden it’s ‘unrequited love’? I rolled my eyes so hard at that one I saw stars.

        1. “And the moment he was dead it was as if none of the previous three episodes happened. Danny was consoling Catherine as if he hadn’t spent three episodes telling McG that she would inevitably cheat on him, and then turned up at the funeral to pay his respects to a man he had no respect for in life.”

          Absolutely. I had huge problems with this. I half expected McG and Danny to say to each other “well, problem of GF sleeping with ex BF now solved” once Billy was dead. Well, not really, but that’s how it seemed, after three episodes of carrying on about it.

          ACA with your comments about the sexism. I just about choked when McG uttered the ‘woman scorned’ line and then did star-seeing eye rolling like you when ‘unrequited love’ turned out to be the motive. Atplenkov, your sexist attitudes are front and centre this season! I wonder if Alex and Scott engage in a little star-seeing eye rolling themselves when the read the scripts? I’d be all “you seriously want me to say THAT?”

  8. “And we weren’t in a high pressure, dangerous job where we could have died at any time. Although there were times he came close :)”

    LOL!

    And ACA with the Champ Box not being locked away somewhere, especially since it’s already been stolen once and there’s no Laura Hills around to send the contents back if it gets swiped again.

    I hadn’t thought that about the paint, but that is also an excellent point!

    I liked the COTW, it did flag a little towards the end but otherwise the pacing was good and it was twisty-turny enough to be interesting. I liked the pettiness of the motive as well, the way it built up to the whole ‘OMG industrial espionage!’ outcome but nope, it wasn’t the really bad stuff the guy was into that got him killed, it was plain old-fashioned jealousy. If he’d managed to keep it in his pants, he’d still be alive. And you could see in Cath’s face a couple of times that she was thinking ‘this? THIS is what Billy died for??’ but it doesn’t make his death worthless that the guy he was protecting was a douchebag. He was willing to risk his life for a stranger just like he had been his whole career, that’s what makes him a hero *sniff*. And after all the hoo-hah of the last three eps, it was jealousy that got him in the end as well :-(.

    I felt SO sorry for Billy’s father too, just imagine your son being a Navy SEAL and worrying endlessly about him being killed in action, then he leaves the Navy and you think you can breathe easy, and on the SECOND DAY of his new job he gets shot and dies. How sucky is that? You b@stards, Show (but I mean this with love!).

    I thought Cath fainting was fair enough – she’d just been shot badly enough to need some really nasty-looking stitches, then she’d driven all the way to the hospital with her mortally-wounded friend and colleague, not even knowing if he’d still be alive when she got there, I think going into shock is a perfectly understandable reaction under the circumstances. Not to mention that when people get wounded on this show and brush it off as if it’s nothing we complain about how unrealistic it is. And on that subject, Billy and the hitman were shot in exactly the same way (and in the hitman’s case, the bullet went through him with enough force to lodge in the wall behind him) but while Billy collapsed in a heap and died almost immediately, the hitman managed to run to his car, drive home and was STILL alive and able to shoot through a door several hours later? Uh-huh.

    I liked the funeral scene (Danny was photoshopped into that?? I didn’t even notice) and the wake afterwards. The Minstrel Boy! *sniff* (Also, Cath’s hair looked lovely pulled back on one side like that).

    Chin hitching his shirt up to show his badge was aldjskaldjskaljdskl. It was another great ep for him :-).

    I don’t care about Doris anymore but I did enjoy Danny telling Joe where to shove it.

    I don’t care about Kono and Adam either, except I hope they don’t kill him off because then it’ll be all ‘it’s so romantic, he sacrificed himself for her, he’ll be her lost love forever’ (barf) when really their relationship should end with her realising what a loser he is and dumping his duct-taping arse from such a great height that he’ll be in emotional traction for the rest of his life.

    My big question: what on Earth were Billy and Cath up to in Kabul that ended with her needing twenty stitches in the back of her head?? 😉

    1. “I thought Cath fainting was fair enough – she’d just been shot badly enough to need some really nasty-looking stitches, then she’d driven all the way to the hospital with her mortally-wounded friend and colleague, not even knowing if he’d still be alive when she got there, I think going into shock is a perfectly understandable reaction under the circumstances. Not to mention that when people get wounded on this show and brush it off as if it’s nothing we complain about how unrealistic it is.”

      I’ll be honest, some of my eye rolling and laughing at the fainting is partly due to my residual dislike of the character/actor. But most of it is exactly what you said in the last sentence. As canon has shown us repeatedly in Show, the major players get hurt (often times worse than this) all the time and are doing all sorts of illogical and insane things moments later – Steve in 2.01, Kono after getting shot in the stomach in 3.23(?), Cath and her broken ribs in 3.20. It’s easier to wave off unrealistic actions when those inaccuracies are consistent. So in Show’s universe, if you’re one of the main actors and you get horribly wounded, you don’t do anything weak/realistic like cry or faint or lose your ability to kick ass. Unless Show wants a contrived opportunity to “prove” to viewers how much Steve cares for Catherine (but it gave us Bedside Vigil McGarrett eye candy so hey, it wasn’t a total waste imo).

      As with much of atplenkov’s style of storytelling (especially this season it seems), it’s beaten over our heads repeatedly until we cave in and accept it just to make the pain go away. It just makes me want to shake the writers and say, “We get it. They’re in L-O-V-E and we must now see them as Castle/Beckett, Booth/Brennen, or whatever crime fighting couple you’re trying to model them after.” Kinda like I wanted to after the third time Danny warned Steve about the bunny humping inevitability of Billy/Cath.

      The time Show wastes on saying the same thing over and over and over again this season (and has it really only been five episodes??), would be better spent on showing the team other than Chin giving a damn about Kono.

      1. hunny_bee1 · · Reply

        *Applauds* Preach, sista!

      2. “As with much of atplenkov’s style of storytelling (especially this season it seems), it’s beaten over our heads repeatedly until we cave in and accept it just to make the pain go away. It just makes me want to shake the writers and say, “We get it. They’re in L-O-V-E and we must now see them as Castle/Beckett, Booth/Brennen, or whatever crime fighting couple you’re trying to model them after.”

        Totally agree! It’s very lazy and unimaginative writing, not to mention it assumes we are all stupid. And it’s boring because there’s no room for anything else. Think how much other stuff could have been covered in the last few eps if we didn’t have to sit through the same old ‘bunny humping inevitability of Billy/Cath’, as you so eloquently put it?

        And if the show turns into something like Castle or Bones with a crime fighting couple, I think it will have lost me. I am barely hanging on by a thread as it is.

      3. “The time Show wastes on saying the same thing over and over and over again this season (and has it really only been five episodes??), would be better spent on showing the team other than Chin giving a damn about Kono.”

        No argument there!

        I think with the injuries they’re now damned if they do and damned if they don’t. Either it’s unrealistic or it’s inconsistent (which is entirely their own fault, of course). It just didn’t bug me, really. Mind you, I’ve fainted from shutting my thumb in the oven door before (rather embarrassingly) so I know that shock can be a ridiculous overreaction and you have no control over it at all.

        1. The fainting didn’t bother me either, as it was just a plot device for giving the management company time to clean up the crime scene. If that hadn’t been part of the “twist” there wouldn’t have been a fainting scene. Bedside Steve was just a side effect of that plot decision. Still though, I’ll send you $100 (American) the day we see Steve or Danny faint from a bullet wound. Just saying.

          1. That’s a good point, I hadn’t thought of that!

            *snort* yeah, that’ll never happen :-).

  9. I just realised that I haven’t yet said great recap, Westy. I LOLed at the title when I first saw the email notification of the post. But then I had the darn song in my head for the rest of the day!

    “And we weren’t in a high pressure, dangerous job where we could have died at any time. Although there were times he came close ” >> Best line of your recap!

  10. Thanks Westy- great recap. I agree with all of it.

    I just kept yelling at the TV “Cath is not a sworn officer of the law! She cannot be at a crime scene, in the interrogation room, or running around with a freaking gun!” Show may as well get her a kevlar vest that says “Girlfriend” on the back (much like Castle’s says “Writer”) just to beat us over the head with the comparision a bit more.
    The Minstrel Boy- that was the only part I liked. I am a sucker for sad Irish songs.

    1. I love that song :-). (because *ahem* it was in one of my favourite ST:TNG episodes).

      1. Was it just me or did Steve and Joe having that conversation about Doris, an active CIA agent, at louder-than-normal speaking tones, hugely in public, strike anyone as odd? Steve was speaking REALLY at the top of his voice, I guess maybe he’d had a few Irish Whiskeys and was entering the loud speaking phase of drunkenness, but seriously guys, can’t not stand in the middle of the room? And then Joe pops up and starts singing. I’ll admit, it made me laugh, it was so unexpected and random.

        1. Not just you, I thought that was odd as well. And the singing was completely random! He has a good voice though :-).

Leave a Reply

